What is CCNA?

What is CCNA ?

CCNA, which stands for Cisco Certified Network Associate, is a prestigious certification offered by Cisco, a renowned company known for manufacturing and selling networking equipment. This certification is designed to provide comprehensive knowledge in various areas, including:

  • TCP/IP model
  • Switches and routers
  • Network utilities such as ping, tracert, and arp
  • IP addressing and subnetting
  • VLANs and trunking
  • Routing protocols like OSPF
  • WLAN
  • NAT and ACLs
  • Automation and programmability

To become CCNA certified, you need to pass a single exam, known as CCNA 200-301. The exam typically consists of around 120 questions and the minimum passing score ranges from 800 to 850 out of 1000.

To take the CCNA exam, you must schedule a test appointment through Pearson VUE, an electronic testing company with authorized testing centers worldwide. Alternatively, you can take the exam at home using your own laptop, provided you meet the testing requirements, including webcam monitoring due to the COVID pandemic.

The exam is available in English and Japanese and has a duration of 120 minutes. After completing the test, you will receive immediate results, but only basic information about your score will be provided. Detailed question-by-question feedback is not given.

There are several preparation methods for the CCNA exam, including:

  1. Attending a CCNA course: Cisco courses are available through various educational companies and institutions. These courses usually last a few months and involve hands-on activities. However, they can be expensive, with prices ranging up to $1000.
  2. Self-study with textbooks and online courses: Many individuals opt for self-studying using high-quality online resources and simulation tools like GNS3 or Packet Tracer, avoiding the need to purchase expensive equipment.
  3. Concentrated boot camps: These are intensive, week-long live classes that cover several months of material in a short period. However, they are not recommended for beginners due to the rigorous pace.

It’s essential to note that attending an official CCNA course from Cisco is not mandatory to take the exam. The CCNA exam consists of seven types of questions, including multiple-choice single-answer questions, and it is conducted in English.

Recertification for CCNA is required every three years. To maintain a valid certification, you can choose one of the following options and pass the corresponding exam before the expiration date of your current certificate:

  1. Take the CCNA exam again.
  2. Pass any one professional concentration exam.
  3. Clear one technology core exam.
  4. Successfully complete one CCIE lab exam.

VMware Mastery

Hi, I've been working with Windows, VMware and Cloud technologies for more than 12 years. I love delving into the exciting realm of technology and enjoy sharing my knowledge with others. I write about IT and Technology, covering both technical and non-technical topics.

Leave a Reply